top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Krieger

Orlando Guide- the parks aren't just for kids and there is more to the city!

Updated: Oct 13, 2020

* Cue Elder Price from the Book of Mormon singing about how much he loves Orlando in the song Two by Two.*


When you think of Orlando, probably the first thing you think of is Mickey and Minnie Mouse and the rest of their pals at Disney. Yes, they are a major part of the city but by visiting my friends who lived there, it was nice to see their working lives and how slow-paced it can be compared to the crowded tourist parks. Don't get me wrong my friends love the theme parks too. I can't even tell you how many times I've been jealous when my friends are texting me while in line for a ride, as they are locals. The last time I visited, I enjoyed local places my friends liked to eat and spend time outside but there's also plenty of massive shopping centers and museums if that's more your thing. This was my best friend trip travel memory as I got to see how my friends lived and they were able to have a stay-cation.


Returning to Disney as an adult was so interesting because it was still magical but other things were hard to look past. Even in the Fall, I was shvitzing up a storm. The bathrooms, for example, could have been cleaner, food was so unhealthy and people could get super grouchy while waiting in long lines under the sun. SO many kids had tantrums and some parents kept pushing to do activities when likely their kid needed to nap before continuing on the day. I must've blocked those memories as a kid or don't remember them. I also had a friend who worked at the parks so Jess was able to give me more behind the scenes info that was interesting to know what it's really like to be an employee there. I also have met Bob Iger as he too is an alum from Ithaca College. He is the Executive Chairman of The Walt Disney Company. He might as well be president of the world with how much power and control Disney has but I digress.

I had never been to Universal before but had seen the first and second Harry Potter movie as a kid. It wasn't my thing, I thought it was a bit spooky. I do remember the craze, I was more into Twilight. Yes, I plan on reading the new book set to come out this summer. I tried reading the Harry Potter books and didn't get hooked. Before my trip, I decided to watch all The Harry Potter movies. I enjoyed them and was looking forward to the wonderful world of Harry Potter. I'm so glad I did so I could understand more of Harry Potters world while at the park.


My favorite ride was Hagrid's Magical Creatures Motorbike Adventure. It was a crazy long line but the most thrilling unexpected experience. It is the world's first "story coaster", you take a class with Hagrid as he takes students into the Forbidden Forest. I didn't look up what happened on the ride beforehand, and I won't spoil it for you. The riders in front of Shelly and I said we were so entertaining while on the ride. It was simply put mindblowing. I don't do upside-down rides and didn't look up what happened on any of these rides so I was lucky that I didn't experience a puke ride. Shelly liked it too even though she was screaming the entire time while I giggled. I'm not sure how I didn't lose my earrings with how fast it felt we went.

Let us turn back the clocks to 2004. It is my first experience in Orlando, every child's dream. I went with my family to sunny Orlando (although I do remember one day it pouring in Disney and we wore big ugly yellow ponchos. I'll let the photo below speak for itself. We also visited SeaWorld. I loved it all, although now I have more mixed feelings about visiting animals, not in their natural habitat.


At the parks they had crazy big popsicles, ice cream shaped like Mickey Mouse that dripped everywhere, you could meet princesses, enjoy rides, music, it was all great. I was scared of characters in costumes that covered their face. Growing up my family didn't take too many vacations and when we did it was mostly to see family/friends for a reunion. This trip to Disney as a kid was special and memorable because of the fun time and oh my sister was lost in Down Town Disney, now called Disney Springs. One of the most memorable experiences and a reminder of valuing family time.


Long story short, my sister wanted to go down a slide on a playground in Down Town Disney (I prefer this name even though they rebranded) and there was a miscommunication on who was watching her. She couldn't find us easily and she knew we were going to the Disney toy store after the playground. She went to the store and got in by pushing the handicap button and started shopping and eventually an employee realized she was alone while at the same time we got Disney park help and were reconnected. Pretty much everyone's worst nightmare happened. This was before they had snazzy bracelets like they do today to enter the parks, use fast passes, etc. or other technology.

Anyways 16 years later I visited Orlando and the parks again with my friends who moved there. There are plenty of blogs out there on the parks but my top pieces of advice are to not get stressed about seeing and doing everything, get a hopper pass for Universal and Disney if you want to see a little bit of everything, wear comfortable clothes/shoes, lather on the sunscreen/eye protection with sunglasses and bring a reusable water bottle and food. Enjoy your time at the parks and plan what you want to do after your ride while waiting in line. There are a handful of lines where you can get in it solo and it's a bit faster than staying with your group. Disney also has fast passes and you'll want to plan the next one right after you complete the one you used for a ride, to meet a character, etc. While in Orlando I was able to do both Universal Parks and all of the Disney World Parks (minus the water parks) in 2 days. I did not experience everything but the highlights that I wanted to cover. I will say I had a more difficult time than expected in the food department. I did bring snacks but I wasn't expecting for so many options at both Universal and Disney to have fried, unhealthy food or meat options. I, of course, did get a butterbeer while visiting the Harry Potter World at Universal, and although sugary and unhealthy, so worth it and good cheat.

I was lucky enough to be able to get a taco salad at Universal for lunch at Thunder Falls Terrace (good bang for your buck) and soup for dinner at Margaritaville (both delicious) but it required a bit of walking around. At dinner, I also had an incredible frozen margarita flight! Yes, I can be a picky eater as I wanted something somewhat healthy and I hardly eat meat or seafood (chicken, turkey, salmon, and tilapia are the exceptions). While at Disney, I had my friend who worked at Disney, Jess help, and the only somewhat healthy item we could find was in the Avatar world of Pandora a Satu'li Bowls at Satu'li Canteen. Everything is also overpriced as to be expected. If you go with a friend who works at the parks or is a season pass holder and you want a souvenir, have them use their discount and pay them back!

Downtown Orlando is LIT! Let me tell you it was honestly one of my favorite nights ever going out. It helped that I was reunited with my friends. Amanda, I met at college, and Shelly I met at sleep away camp. When they both moved to Orlando, I introduced the two of them as they were both new to the city and didn't know many people yet. I was so happy to find out they hit it off and now are roomies. Downtown Orlando bars though were truly great, the strip we went to had various themed bars, some more packed than others. I liked that many shared patio space outside. The twinkly lights were a bonus on top of the nice winter temp of 70's. As someone who grew up in upstate NY, I'd love to have more fall nights with weather that warm. I find it funny when my friends complain of their cold Florida days that in my opinion aren't truly cold but are for them. I could do without the Florida humidity though, my hair would be grateful.

While I was in Orlando in October it was LGBTQ+ history month and after touching down at the airport, I was at the Pride festival at Lake Eola within an hour of arrival. One of the most fun prides I've been to. I never realized how LGBTQ+ friendly the city was; so welcoming and I wish I had a chance to stop by where the Pulse Night club was located. It's hard to understand a place without experiencing it yourself. During the Parade, multiple groups helped us pay our respects to those lives lost too soon in the shooting at Pulse. The lake is beautiful and we went back there to visit the farmers market and grab some local fresh grub the following day. I give credit to all the folks who drive in Orlando, wow is it intense but I also think the entire state has aggressive drivers.

I felt so welcomed in Orlando and understand why so many people call it home and travel there as often as they do. Don't be afraid to take an easy day while traveling and just relax by the water and soak up some sunshine. Remember poolside could be your best side ;)


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page